New Hampshire Foreclosure Laws

The foreclosure process in the state of New Hampshire is fairly straightforward and easy to understand. There is no right of redemption allowed here although they do allow lenders to receive a deficiency judgement and it only takes two months to complete the entire process. Both the judicial and non-judicial remedies are allowed here in the state of New Hampshire.

The judicial foreclosure requires a court order to foreclose so the lender has to go to court and sue the borrower to get his satisfaction. Once the lender is given the foreclose order the court will set a time line in which the borrower is allowed to cure the default and become current with the lender for the amount owed and in default. In the event that the borrower is unable to cure the default the court can also order that the property be foreclosed by possession by the lender.

The non-judicial foreclosure is used here with a power of sale clause authorizing the lender to sell the property to satisfy the loan balance exists in the loan document. When this happens the notice of sale must be mailed to the borrower via certified mail or registered mail at least 25 days prior to the date of sale. In addition the notice must be published at least weekly in a local newspaper of general circulation in the area where the property is located and must be done for three consecutive weeks beginning at least 21 days prior to the date of sale.

Search New Hampshire Foreclosed Homes for Sale

Latest New Hampshire Foreclosures